Our People

The Society is managed by the Executive Committee, a group of volunteers elected to serve by the membership. Elections take place at the Annual General Meeting in April each year.

There are four officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) and up to 21 ‘ordinary’ members of the Executive Committee.

The four officers are elected for a period of one year but can be re-elected each year.

Ordinary members of the Committee are usually elected for a period of two years after which they must step down but can stand for re-election.

The Society’s Constitution allows for up to three committee members to be co-opted each year but co-opted members must stand for election at the first Annual General Meeting following their co-option.

All members of the Executive Committee, whether elected or co-opted, are trustees of the charity.

The Executive Committee members are:


PresidentKevin Trickett MBE, BA (Hons), MBA, MA (Phil).

Kevin is a native of Wakefield and has lived in and around the city all his life. After a 40-year career in the Civil Service, culminating as a senior project and programme manager, Kevin now devotes much of his time to charity work, writing, public speaking, and travel. Kevin writes and speaks about some of his favourite subjects including architecture, heritage, philosophy, travel and Art Deco. He also writes restaurant reviews and other articles for Wakefield-based regional business-to-business magazine TopicUK. His blog can be found on his website https://itbroadensthemind.com/.

Kevin is well versed in the activities of the civic movement, having been a trustee of Wakefield Civic Society since 1990. He was elected as the Society’s President in March 2002 and continues to hold that position today. Shortly after taking up the presidency of Wakefield Civic Society, he became a trustee of the Yorkshire and Humber Association of Civic Societies (YHACS) and was elected as its Chair in January 2011, a role which he also continues to fulfil.

In the 2019 New Year’s Honours List, Kevin was awarded the MBE for services to the community in Wakefield.

Vice President: Pete Taylor BA (Hon), Mech Eng T. (CGLI)

Pete left Thornes House School and started an apprenticeship with Spencer and Halstead in Ossett, qualifying as a mechanical engineer.  He then worked at E Green and Sons as a draughtsman and then contract manager and at Craven Fawcett as a Contract Manager.  There he was selected for training to project manage and implement their IT systems. Pete changed from mechanical engineering to IT and began a 30-year career in IT operational management.

He was IT manager at Craven Fawcett and then Bretton Hall College before moving to ITW ROCOL as Operations IT Manager for 18 years until retirement. Pete now manages the Second Chance Headway Centre in Wakefield (Therapy and Rehabilitation for Adults with Brain Injuries), and is a Trustee of Wakefield Civic Society, and member of Southgate Surgery PPG.

Pete’s hobbies are Archaeology (the subject of his BA degree), and Historical Research.

Secretary: Mike O’Donnell

Treasurer: Alison Sykes

Committee Members

Barrie Bradshaw

Barrie worked for many years in the construction industry. Firstly heading his own multi-million pound turnover light civil engineering company before working as a freelance consultant dealing with high-end fit-outs and refurbishments in the City and West End of London.

He now keeps busy by, amongst other things, working as a volunteer for Walton Community Library and an Executive Committee Member for Wakefield Civic Society.

Debra Burkill

Sarah Leah Cobham BA (Hons), PGCE

Sarah is the CEO of Dream Time Creative and the driving force behind the Forgotten Women of Wakefield #blueplaqueparity Project. With 22 years of teaching English and Drama in local schools and 23 years of supporting post natal women with her business Dream Time Baby Massage, she is well connected  throughout the district. The head of an Open Awards Training Centre, Sarah facilitates courses designed to upskill women in the community. Sarah is dedicated to the power of creativity as a tool for change and believes in the power of connectivity to create a better society for all. 

Sarah leads on our Blue Plaque work.

Fay Dell BA (Hons), MA

Fay is a native of Wakefield, but it was only after 10 years away from the city that, on her return, did she decide to join the Society. It turns out there are many, like her, who spend most of their free time talking about what a great place Wakefield is and hoping to promote that!

A qualified Social Worker, having previously worked in Domestic Abuse Services, Fay is currently working in an HR capacity for a nationwide charity. Having lived in other cities in the UK and abroad, Fay is happy to be finally back in her favourite place in the world. 

Outside of work, Fay is currently studying for a PgDip in Human Resource Management (CIPD Level 7). 

Jon Dell BA (Hons), ACA

Jon is a Chartered Accountant who currently works within the Civil Service, providing assurance for investments made using public money. Prior to this he has worked in the private sector, as well as working internationally in Malta. Jon is also the Finance Director for the nationwide charity Free Cakes For Kids.

Outside of work, Jon has a big passion for baking, 90s pop music and promoting the amazing city of Wakefield. Having lived in other cities of the United Kingdom as well as abroad, Jon can say with certainty that Wakefield is truly his favourite place in the world.  

Richard Downes

Tim Downes

Sandra Elliott

Barry Goodchild

Gill Hutchinson

John Ramsden

John Seacome

Kevin Swift

Brandon Titterington